Believing that I can heal myself

reiki-healing-hands

Sometimes I wake up in the mornings feeling inspired and ready to create my day with ease. Other times it can be trying, and such an effort. Today I feel rejuvenated and like its a blank canvas, a new opportunity to make yesterday’s wrong’s right. It’s been such dark times for me the last two years since my illness which was triggered by a dodgy “Doctor” giving me injections in the wrong places on my back. I lost the mobility of my hands, and couldn’t blog till now. Wait, I forgot to mention that the first few months after the injections I couldn’t brush my teeth, dress myself, shake someones hand, swipe my phone screen on, pick up an object as light as a pen, open a door, or drive, amongst several other hundreds of things. Although I am still in pain as I type this, I am on the road to recovery, and I know that I will return to my original healthy state very soon. It was so difficult to remain positive when it seemed all things around me were falling apart, but Im happy to say that I made it through the hardest part of that journey.

I will never stop believing in the power of the mind to heal the body. But here’s the kicker. Your nervous system has two operating systems — the “fight-or-flight” stress response and the relaxation response. Only when our nervous system is in a relaxation response will our body’s self-repair mechanisms function! My stress response was there to protect me in case a dinosaur chased me! But these days, we’re pretty safe from extinct creatures, and yet somehow our stress responses get triggered, on average, over 50 times per day. How? Well apparently the amygdala in our brain equates negative thoughts, beliefs, and feelings, such as  relationship troubles, financial worries and work stress etc to threats equally as scary as a dinosaur attacking us!? So, there we have it. The scaredy-cat amygdala is triggered and alarm bells go off preventing our bodies from repairing themselves. No wonder I was so sick!

So if you’re one of those people who don’t believe that positive belief cannot cure the body, think again! The placebo effect EXISTS. For 50 years now in countless medical studies it has been proven to cause resolution of symptoms and real physiological change. So every time I believed that my condition was “incurable” or “chronic,” it hindered my healing and put me into “fight-or-flight” stress. I remember taking leaps backwards and feeling like I was never going to be able to use my arms without pain ever again. Lo and behold, every time that I had these thoughts, I would be in more pain than ever and physically and emotionally in utter turmoil.

For my skeptical physician mind, reading through all these case studies of success stories of people who healed themselves was a paradigm shift.  Scientific data proves that once you believe healing is possible, it can be. My experience also proves the same because I went from not being able to use my hands at all, to typing you this blog. So what do you believe?

Leave a Reply

